h1

Most Mysterious Remedy

August 28, 2007

untitled-3-copy.jpg

Jesus Christ both God and flesh
Oh what a strange yet perfect mesh
Only a man so completely Divine
May uphold the goodness
That I cannot find
Only if God were completely like I
Could He take my place on the cross to die
What is needed when my lot is death
In all my thoughts I cannot guess
I look up, I look down
I search high, I search low
I end my quest still left in sorrow
No one to bear my sin
No one at all
No one to bear my sin
Both great and small
Who will rid me of such curse
Surely there is no one in the universe
There is only one to take my sin
He is the peculiar Incarnation
How could this be
That God would be like me
And how could it be
That God should bleed
I would not have known
His blood would set me free
Of all possible acts
This most unfair
Of all hopeless gifts
His life not spared
Christ’s virgin birth
Did make Him God-Man
If He were only God
My penalty He would demand
If only human
There would be no substitute
For He too would be with sin
Christ’s virgin birth
Did make Him God-Man
That He might ransom me
Forever with Him to stand
All glory is now His
With our eternal applaud
When we see Him as He is

Leave a Reply

