h1

Plead To Certainty

September 6, 2007

question_mark2.jpg

I am but a human being
Unsure if I live in a dream
Consulting finite things
Exhausting infinite possibilities
With no certainty of reality
How do I know
If what I know is for certain?
Certainty places great demands upon me
Certainty demands the impossible
It demands I be doubt free!
But how can I be doubt free
Unless that which is certain
Makes itself known to me?
If one without perfect sight
Is without help of glasses
How will they read the sign
Before their life passes?
How will they read the sign
Which shows them the way?
Without glasses they cannot be certain
And will forever stray
If given these glasses
Their curtain will split
And after endless wondering
They would at last sit
But until glasses are given
They remain without sight
All fairy-tales are reality
And all wrongs remain right
What if one cries out to certainty
“Reveal yourself to me”
But is left with no response
Only to assure their defeat?
Certainty has great demands
It demands I be doubt free
So it seems I depend upon certainty
It must reveal itself to me
Yet I know what you will say
Not even such a statement
Can be known with certainty too
But don’t you see?
You are making my point
All the more true!
And so I leave you with this
When the somber awake their dream
How will they be for certain
And know things are what they seem?
How can I achieve the impossible
And one day be doubt free?
I have no way to know
I have no way to see
Unless that which is certain
Reveals itself to me

2 comments

  1. You wrote by yourself?


  2. yeppers 🙂



Leave a Reply

