h1

Some Favorite Quotes

July 18, 2008

“Nothing can damn a man but his own righteousness; nothing can save him but the righteousness of Christ.” ~ Charles Spurgeon

“The phony self is the enemy.” ~ Thomas Mertin

“God does not love us because we are good but because He loves us He will make us good.” ~ C.S. Lewis

“The gospel is a table for sinners and sinners only.” ~ Martin Luther

“The free man is he who does not fear to go to the end of his thought.” ~ Leon Blum

“Atheism shows strength of mind. But only to a certain degree.” ~ Blaise Pascal

“That dear friend is repentance; repentance has been with me all my life, and I think I shall drop a tear as I go through the gates to think that I can repent no more.” ~ Rowland Hill

“If Evolution is true it evolves the human being to not want to die, while at the same time it evolves us to die in a very short amount of time. That would make it the greatest ironic fluke!” ~ Self

“The gospel is not that Jesus loves us in spite of our sin, but that he is the only one who can do anything about it.” ~ Self

“Theism makes the most sense of the world, and Christianity makes the most sense of Theism.” ~ Self

“Nature and nature’s laws lay hid in night; God said “Let Newton be” and all was light.” ~ Alexander Pope (in writing Isaac Newton’s epitaph)

“I do not know what I may appear to the world, but to myself I seem to have been only like a boy playing on the sea-shore, and diverting myself in now and then finding a smoother pebble or a prettier shell than ordinary, whilst the great ocean of truth lay all undiscovered before me.” ~ Sir Isaac Newton

“Gravity explains the motions of the planets, but it cannot explain who set the planets in motion. God governs all things and knows all that is or can be done.” ~ Sir Isaac Newton

“Never argue with a fool. Someone might be watching and may not be able to tell the difference.” ~ Anonymous

Leave a Reply

