h1

Foo Fighters – Come Alive

February 12, 2009

Happy Easter!

Here is my Scriptural commentary on this awesome song. This is not a Christian band or a Christian song. If it were it might run the risk have having a boring 4 for 4 timing, use all major chords, have an overtly uppity beat, have lyrics with no depth, have lyrics for Christians only, have lyrics that are painfully cliche, have lyrics which sing about 1% of God’s character and 0% about everyday life.

So for our purposes we’re going to look at what non-Christians have written through a Christian lens because they actually aren’t afraid to talk about real life struggles. They don’t have a sub-culture telling them that it’s “unspiritual” to sing about everyday life or live in fear that “God” may get out his wooden spoon if they do.

Seems like only yesterday
Life belonged to runaways
Nothing here to see, no looking back

Every sound monotone
Every color monochrome
Life began to fade into the black

Ecc 1:2-3 “Meaningless! Meaningless!” says the Teacher. “Utterly meaningless! Everything is meaningless.” What does man gain from all his labor at which he toils under the sun?”

Such a simple animal
Sterilized with alcohol
I could hardly feel me anymore

Gen 9:21 “When he drank some of its wine, he became drunk and lay uncovered inside his tent.”

Desperate and meaningless
All filled up with emptiness
Felt like everything was said and done

Psa 77:7-9 “Will the Lord reject forever? Will he never show his favor again? Has his unfailing love vanished forever? Has his promise failed for all time? Has God forgotten to be merciful?”

I lay there in the dark, and I closed my eyes
You saved me the day you came alive

Prov 4:19 “But the way of the wicked is like deep darkness; they do not know what makes them stumble.”

Still I try to find my way
Spinning hours into days
Burning like a flame behind my eyes

John 14:5 “Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?”

Drown in out, drink it in
Crown the king of suffering
Prisoner, a slave to the disguise

Ecc 2:1 “I thought in my heart, “Come now, I will test you with pleasure to find out what is good.” But that also proved to be meaningless.”

Disappear the only thing
Bittersweet surrendering
Knew that it was time to say goodbye

Job 17:11; 15 “My days have passed, my plans are shattered, and so are the desires of my heart.” “where then is my hope? Who can see any hope for me?”

1 Cor 15:17 “And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins.”

I lay there in the dark and I closed my eyes
You saved me the day you came alive

No reason left me to survive
You saved me the day you came alive

1 Cor 15:21-22 “For since death came through a man, the resurrection of the dead comes also through a man. For as in Adam all die, so in Christ all will be made alive.”

Come Alive

Rom 6:5 “If we have been united with him like this in his death, we will certainly also be united with him in his resurrection.”

I lay there in the dark and I closed my eyes
You saved me the day you came alive

Come Alive

Rom 6:6 “For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body of sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin”

Nothing more to give
I can finally live
Come alive

Rom 6:11 “In the same way, count yourselves dead to sin but alive to God in Christ Jesus.”

Your life into me
I can finally breathe
Come alive

Rom 4:25 “He was delivered over to death for our sins and was raised to life for our justification.”

I lay there in the dark
And opened my eyes
You saved me the day you came alive

Luke 15:23-24 “Let’s have a feast and celebrate. For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found! So they began to celebrate.”

“Let’s have a feast and celebrate. For this daughter of mine was dead and is alive again; she was lost and is found! So they began to celebrate.”

2 comments

  1. It is a good song.
    I can’t believe you combine non-christian lyrics into christian, lol, you are great.


  2. Thanks Cinderella.



Leave a Reply

